Government of Delhi has finally given its nods to the expansion of Delhi Metro Network under Phase-IV. Both Government of India and Government of Delhi are the stakeholders in Delhi Metro Rail Corporation. Government of India has already given its approval for expansion of metro network in January 2017. The Phase-IV will be 104 km in length and will cater to 1.5 million passengers daily. The expanded network was expected to completed by 2022 but it may now be completed by 2024. 

The list of approved lines are as follows:

1. Rithala to Narela (21 km)

2. Inderlok to Indraprastha (12 km)

3. Tughlakabad to Aerocity (20 km)

4. Lajpat Nagar to Saket G-block (8 km)

5. Janakpuri to RK Ashram (28 km)

6. Mukundpur to Maujpur (12 km)

The completion of Phase-IV network will take total network to 454 km. Total project cost of Phase-IV is INR 470 billion (US$ 6.7 billion), out of which Delhi Government will fund only INR 90 billion (US$ 1.4 billion). This phase will also help Delhi Metro to connect Uttar Pradesh and Haryana with the key areas. 

One of the key change under the new phase will be more focus on PPP (Public Private Partnership). DMRC will not buy capital assets like metro coaches, escalators, elevators etc. All these resources will be procured under lease model. Unfortunately, Delhi Government has proposed to increase the height of metro pillors and will make way for massive flyovers underneath the metro line. According to the government, this will help to expand roads in these areas. However, this is not the correct way to promote public transport by creating competing infrastructure for private vehicles. The same design will look similar to Nagpur Metro line.